Poses and Modelling

“There is one thing the photograph must contain, the humanity of the moment.”
— Robert Frank


A smile can light up a psyche ward.
Photography is an art. People, Historians and critics all rave about it a lot.

If we are talking about nature photography, then I guess the photography is to be appreciated as an art. When humans are to be photographed, I guess the photos come out good or praiseworthy only if the model has struck a proper posed. So, that makes posing by the model a bigger art.

Lately, I have been experiencing this. To be precise, since I have opened this madoversarees. I am in awe of all those lovely ladies and handsome hunks who pose so well and make their pics watch worthy.

My niece is my official photographer for madoversarees (she also handles my account). She keeps getting frustrated because according to her I’m unable to even smile.

She opines, I get stiff and too uptight. I keep telling her that I am stiff and straight shouldered; I can’t pretend to be what I am not.

But, I guess that’s exactly what posing is all about. She keeps complaining that, either I look annoyed, or I look devoid of expressions. Once, I mentioned the famous pic of Monalisa and questioned her, “tell me can you fathom her expressions”? This really cracked her up and she was staring at me with incredulity. Now tell me, “Was I wrong”?🤔

Once, I tried giving a sultry look 😉 and she yelled from behind the camera, “Atya! Why that angry look”?😆 So, I sheepishly told her about my expressions. Looking at her shocked expressions, I burst into laughter and that’s when she clicked the really rare, very rare my smiling pics 😊
Now I know why models are so well paid . Apart from looking good they also need to pose.

Leave a comment